top of page
  • Writer's pictureJuzanne

Fall-ing For These Skin Care Tips

Update: Fall is in full swing! Say “bye-bye” to humid days and “hello” to crisp, cool air. As you work to stuff your summer wardrobe into the depths of your closet, that isn’t the only thing that needs revamping.


Just as the season changes so does your hormones and skin. You ought to be ahead of the game by also transitioning your skincare regimen in an effort to protect and maintain that healthy glow.


I have taken the plunge yet again this year as I recently swapped out my trusty skincare products of summer, to those suitable for the plummeting temperatures that are to come. This switch-up includes four products that I use every single day—without fail.


MY TOP 4 SKINCARE PRODUCTS


1. Cleansers

I consider myself a part of the sensitive, acne-prone skin club. Over the years I have noted that a handful of factors play into the rather unfortunate acne episodes that my skin endures every so often. Along with dropping temperatures and drier air during the fall, it is a combination of St. Ives’ Apricot Scrub + Clean and Clear’s Continuous Control Acne Cleanser that I have found to do the trick. During the late summer months, I would have alternated between these cleansers once a day, but I instead use the Apricot Scrub to exfoliate first thing in the morning followed by the Continuous Control Acne Cleanser when washing up before bed. An ideal exfoliation and acne treatment balance if I do say so myself.

Pro tip: Limit exfoliating to twice a week to avoid damaging skin's surface.

You may be wondering, “Why exfoliate, wouldn’t that make dryness worse?” In fact, the complete opposite is occurring. Exfoliation in this manner is the best way to treat skin that appears dry and flaky. It actually helps stimulate natural oil production. This goes for both face and body. S


So, why not get your scrub on?


2. Moisturizing

During the summer my skin tends to be extra oily, and I opt for a more lightweight moisturizer. However, since fall has debuted I quickly grabbed this holy-grail product to combat the frigid temperatures. In terms of facial care, Olay Complete Daily Moisturizer delivers lasting hydration while also protecting the skin from an excessive amount of sun exposure with SPF 15.


I'll let you in on a little secret: You ABSOLUTELY still need sunscreen in fall+winter.

Allow me to explain here...


While the Olay line includes three options (“Sensitive”, “Normal” and “Combination/Oily Skin”) to choose from based on your skin type, “Sensitive” is what I've found to work best for me. Its long-lasting capability makes it ideal for all day wear, not to mention its non-greasy and gentle formula that gives true meaning to the idea of being lightweight. A great product with hydrating ingredients (vitamin E and aloe) to help maintain healthy-looking skin.


3. Facial Cleansing Brushes

I welcomed a new addition to my skincare regimen: A facial cleaning brush. This was all new to me. I mean, the only tool I used before were my own two hands. The outcome has been quite rewarding as I look forward to picking up my Vivitar Facial Power Brush now to spice up my everyday skincare routine.


Ultimately, I feel more refreshed. The facial brush is able to get down into my pores to deliver an even better clean feeling. While others—like myself—rave about cleansing facial brushes, the result may not be the same for everyone. Others have experienced massive breakouts thanks to these brushes and haven’t touched one since. Not to worry, it's normal for your skin to flare up within the first few weeks of use. Advice I’ve received: Allow your skin to get use to it as your pores will open more overtime.


Incorporating a facial brush into your fall skin care regimen will quicken the exfoliation of dead skin cells while also removing any oil or debris to promote better penetration of products into the skin.










*DISCLAIMER: This post is not sponsored. All opinions are my own.


5 views0 comments
bottom of page