top of page
  • Writer's pictureJuzanne

#JustJTravels: ST. AUGUSTINE, FLORIDA



Winter break 2018 was one to remember. I got the chance to travel and explore the most historic city in Florida, St. Augustine. I've been here before, way back in the fourth grade.


Years later, I'm just as excited to immerse myself in the city's history.


The beginning of my trip consisted of a joy ride through the city as it was covered in lights for the holidays. The 24th annual Nights of Lights festival was one to remember as St. Augustine was decked out in over three million lights that covered just about every inch of the historic district.


Before boarding Ripley's Red Train Nights of Lights, I got all comfy-cozy next to a fire pit and roasted marshmallows, as the fire crackled away into the night.


Once called aboard, the train whisked its passengers away—giving you a glimpse of the lights while going up-and-down streets and alleyways. This award winning event left me in awe. The marvelous glowing displays seemed endless as I gazed on in delight. The faint echo of popular holiday tunes and children's giggles could be heard as the city was abuzz and buildings glowed with holiday cheer.


Although every display proved to be unique, my absolute favorite had to be the lights draped around every tree in the Plaza de la Constitución, considered downtown St. Augustine (featured in the slideshow above). This dazzling sight made for a magical atmosphere where everything was aglow, as it alluded to an enchanting forest.

Ten out of ten, I would recommend.


There was plenty to do from dusk till dawn while attending this annual light festival, as businesses downtown remained open later, which allowed dine in view of the lights and the opportunity to shop amongst the lit buildings. The trains and trolleys make for an unforgettable experience as they take you through the best areas of Nights of Lights.


There is a ton of specialty tours -- everything from walking to horse-and-carriage tours, and even tours to see the lights from the water or air.


While the exploration of St. Augustine proved to be quite extraordinary at night, it was only right to dive into its historic elements the following day. I could hardly contain my excitement as I wandered through the brick streets of downtown. It helped illustrate how life must have been when St. Augustine was initially discovered. Each street is lined with quaint shops and cafes as visitors walked about.


I happened to be craving a sweet treat at one point and stumbled upon an amazing ice cream shop that makes the creamiest ice cream known to my taste buds.



Along the way, I snapped photos, of course, as I marveled at the city's aesthetic and preserved culture.

The nation's oldest city is a destination I think everyone should visit.


I've marked that off my bucket list!












9 views0 comments
bottom of page